An Ella’s Kitchen Experiment

Yesterday you may have seen that me and Big M were playing in the kitchen using some Ella’s Kitchen reciepes.

For those of you who don’t know who Ella’s Kitchen are (where have you been?) Ella’s Kitchen is a company that makes organic baby and toddler food, and they have brought out 3 recipe books. I was lucky enough to win all 3 of these books last year in a Facebook competition!

With being back at work I haven’t really looked at the books as I simply haven’t had the time to make everything from scratch but as it’s the Easter hols (and the weather is rubbish) I decided that me and Big M would have a go at a couple of the recipes.

Big M was excited to get started especially as she was going to go in the ‘The Little Helper’. This is great for little ones to help in the kitchen. It was given to me who was moving abroad and it’s been great to use every now and then.

I decided to go for the yellow ‘The Big Baking Book’ and chose Cornflake Cluster Bars and Garlic Bread Fingers.

IMG_9034

We started of with the Cornflake Cluster Bars:

IMG_9033

You will need:

  • 100g cornflakes
  • 50g raisins or sultanas (chopped – on in my case cut using some scissors)
  • 100g milk chocolate broken into pieces (why not use one of your many Easter Eggs for this!)
  • 15g unsalted butter
  • 1 tablespoon of clear honey

Instructions:

  • Dampen an 18cm square cake tin (I didn’t have one of those so just used a normal tray) and line with clingfilm.
  • Crush the cornflakes in a bowl with your hands and add the dried fruit (I forgot to do this until the chocolate was ready!)
  • Melt the chocolate, butter and honey either on the hob or in the microwave. I prefer the hob as I feel as though you can keep an eye on it then.
  • Stir the chocolate mixture until smooth and then add to the cereal.
  • Mix well and pack into the prepared tin, pressing down firmly with the back of a dampened spoon (damn! I forgot to dampen my spoon!)
  • Leave in a cool place  until set and cut into 12 bars.
  • Store in an airtight container for up to 3 days.
After we had made those we still had some time to spare as Little M was asleep and she will generally have a 2 hour nap, so I thought we could try something else.
Garlic Bread Fingers
IMG_9050
You will need:
For the dough:
  • 450g strong white bread flour and some extra for dusting
  • 2 teaspoons fast action dried yeast
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil, plus extra for greasing
For the garlicyness
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons of finely chopped parsley
  • freshly ground black pepper
Instructions:
  • To make the dough, combine the flour and yeast in a bowl.
  • Add the oil and 250mls of warm water and ix into a soft dough.
  • On a floured surface knead the dough for about 10 mins until smooth and elastic.
  • Place into an oiled bowl, cover with clingfilm and prove for 45-60 mins or until it has doubled in size.
  • Preheat the oven to 200C/Gas Mark 6
  • Grease 2 baking trays.
  • Combine the garlic, oil, parsley, and a little pepper in a bowl and set aside.
  • Turn out the dough onto a floured surface and cut into 2.
  • Roll out each piece to about 30 x 15 cm oval.
  • Place onto the baking sheets and cut across into 5cm wide strips leaving them intact at the ends.
  • Leave to stand for 20 mins.
  • Bake in the oven for 18-20 mins until risen.
  • Spread with the garlic mixture
The Verdict!
Well… I don’t profess to the be the best cook in the world, I always try and follow the recipes but when working with a toddler things don’t always go to plan…
Trying to keep everything safe and controlled was quite interesting.

I think the girls enjoyed both the things we made, although I do think I need more practice. I’ll have another go during May Half Term 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

