Guest Post – @GoofsnGiggles

I’ve got the music blasting in the background as I work on chores. I am feeling awfully productive and getting a lot done, laundry is going, dishwasher running, and now I am starting on the bathrooms, when a whole hour early I hear it…

MOMMMMMMMMMA!!!! MOMMMMMMMA!!! goofs.JPG

My heart sinks a little… I am getting so much done! Why does she have to be awake already? Ugh. I quickly finish cleaning the windex off the bathroom mirror so I can go get my daughter and start her on snack.

Well the other night as I laid in bed analyzing my mothering for the day I remembered a promise I made more than a year and a half ago.

A promise I have been breaking regularly.

Just after before having my daughter I promised that I would smile and be optimistic about being a mother. I would always remember the incredible gift of motherhood and embrace every responsibility to come with the job.

One specific situation I promised to always enjoy was when my kids woke up. I was NEVER going to be that mom that would complain that her child had woken early from a nap. I was going to love EVERY opportunity to be with my child… even if that meant laundry wouldn’t be put away that day or maybe a 5 course meal wouldn’t be made.

Well 2 children and 1 tired momma later and the promised attitude is not quite there. I love my kids. I love spending time with them.

I am sad however, to admit, that the stress and lack of sleep from motherhood has gotten to me and at times I have wished they would sleep a little longer. I have wanted more time to clean, organize, or rest.

When I realized this while thinking the other night, it made me sad. I love my kids. I want them to know I love them. I don’t want them to feel as if they are a nuisance or in the way… EVER! I want them to feel that mommy always wants them around and that they make life better… not inconvenient or miserable!

I may not be perfect but with optimism I have made a new promise.

I will always be excited my kids are awake the second I walk through their bedroom door.

So I may initially wish that I had a little extra time but when I go to get them I will show in my voice, face, and body language that I am SO excited my child is awake and that I GET to spend the rest of the day with them.

Thank you to Goofs n Giggles for letting me a part of my very first Guest Post.

Check out their fantastic blog…

Home

https://www.instagram.com/goofsngiggles/

goofsngiggles@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

