To sauce or not to sauce…

…that is the question!

Now I don’t know about you, but I never put sauce on anything. I’m talking tomato sauce, Mayo, salad cream etc. It’s just not my thing. I’ve never really liked it. As I’ve got older I’ve realised that sometimes it’s just easier to have something with sauce on than it is to search through the sandwiches to find something that’s ‘plain’.

When I was weaning Big M a couple of years a go I would have never dreamed of giving her any form of sauce (mainly because of the sugar content) as I wanted her to learn what different foods taste like before they were smothered in some form of condiment.

I have a nephew who is just a month older than Big M, my one and only younger brother is his dad. My brother would always laugh at me when I refused to let Big M have any tomato sauce with her food whenever we went to visit as they let my nephew have everything they ate – including lots of different sauces. (I don’t even let her have a fruit shoot!)

Now Big M is 2 1/2 I feel a little bit more relaxed with my rules now. I let her have some sauce to dip her chips in mainly to try and encourage her to eat more at tea time if she’s being awkward. There are many things that I have been more lax with Little M but I think I’m going to stick to my sauce rule with her as well as I want her to know about different foods not just eat everything with sauce.

Does anyone else feel as though baby number 2 has a different parenting experience than number 1? I’m curious what people think about when they have more than 2 children…how does that effect your parenting style?

This does feel as though as I’m rambled a bit and I’m sorry for that!

ketchup

Leave a Reply

