Trying to be creative

Do you ever get the urge to make something with your children? Sometimes I will have activities set up for the girls during the day, but the fact the weather has been rubbish over the past couple of days has really thrown me. I’ve gotten used to just playing outside and having the paddling pool out and not having to plan things.

Yesterday the weather was so wet, we had plans in the morning but I was stumped to what to do in the afternoon.

I decided we would try and do something creative…

Big M is in pull up nappies and they come in a box so I wanted to use that.

IMG_0284I asked Big M if she wanted to make a robot head…she seemed to impressed with that so we got started.

I cut the hand holding bit more so she could put her head through.

IMG_0285We put tin foil all over…now this bit was interesting as I have a 16 month old and a 2 year old that really just want to rip up the tin foil and run away with the box…oh and shove things in the hole!

We had to see if it fit…

Perfect!

Next my plan was to put stickers all over it for buttons, we started but Little M thought it was more fun to pull the stickers off and Big M wanted to put the stickers on my face 🙂

This was not the most perfect craft we’ve done, but we had a go and the children had fun which I think is the most important thing. I have to remind myself that they are still very young and I shouldn’t expect them to want to do everything I want them to do.

Here’s to more failed crafts!

2 thoughts on “Trying to be creative

  1. We have grand plans for craft every couple of weeks and it never turns out as expected. I just tell myself that the process is as important (if not more so) than the product. I spent many days saying that to myself when I had a Reception class too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

