Review – The Speech Mama

Kimberly Marino has been a qualified  speech and language pathologist for over 23 years. She is a  working mum of found has been happily married for almost 23 years to her high school sweetheart. Kimberley has a blog called The Speech Mama

I was intrigued to find out more about Kimberly and the work that she does as my eldest daughter Big M who turns 3 in November has only really just started talking in the past couple of months. She said the odd word and she was able to communicate when she wanted something but it’s taken a while for her to speak in any form of sentence. I was eager to find out if there I was anything I could do to try and improve her speech but also to see what ground work I could make with Little M who is just over 17 months now.

Kimberly has recently created a set of flashcards that represents early sounds children can produce. Kimberly says there are no other set of flashcards that targets early sounds! Kimberly has added an explanation on the cards teaching parents how to teach the each sound.

Little M and I had a go going through the cards.

I just want to add here that I had to ask Mr VB to print these off for me at work as we don’t have a printer at home and now I don’t have a job I wasn’t able to do it. Which is why only one set of the cards came home as he didn’t realise there were different things for us to do (I have to wait until he gets back from Norway to get the other printed out) and that they are on paper and not card!

Anyway, I digress!

Little M liked the little cards, she enjoyed pointing out the things/sounds she already knew i.e. cow (‘Ooo’ and car ‘Rumm Rumm’). We tried the different techniques on how to make sounds; like with most things with little people this will take practice and repetition in order for it to stick and work properly.

I thought the cards had good graphics and it was clear that this is for first sounds. I think the only thing is the slight difference between the American English and English was a little confusing and had to be altered a little. I enjoyed doing a different activity with Little M especially a learning activity and it’s one that we will be doing again.

If you have a little one who is on the cusp of talking then this could be something that could help you understand the process of learning how to talk and in turn help your little one improve their speech.

My First Sounds and Words Flashcards by Thespeechmama can be found to buy and download straight away on Etsy

 

Leave a Reply

