Potty Training Highs and Lows

Yes I’m going to bang on about potty training again! But you have to understand all I seem to talk about it going to the toilet not just to my children but everyone I come across – friends, colleagues, people I’ve just met! It is at the forefront of my mind all the time. 

Big M turned 3 at the beginning of November 2016 and we began potty training in July when I broke up from school for the summer as I was acutely aware that she needs to be well on her way with it when she started Foundation Stage 1 at nursery school when she turned 3.

I had no idea how hard this would be. I had heard some horror stories but I had also heard about the children who were potty trained in 3 days. I was kind of hoping that would be me and Big M would be one of the latter. 

Unfortunately we are still yet to crack it in April 2017. 

I have tried so many things including various sticker charts, praise, reward boxes, being happy and even being cross but something is simply not sticking. 

Or so I thought! 

I’ve been at home with the children since a Saturday (it’s now Tuesday) we haven’t rushed around, we haven’t really been any way and I really thing that we have turned a corner. I believe it’s a combination of a number of things. Me being at home all the time with the children for one. When I’m at work they have to be looked after by either my child minder, parents or the in laws. It’s very rare that I get to be on my own with them for a long period of time. Then we have Little M who really is a force of nature. She has decided that she would like to be a part of this potty training adventure and asks to go on the potty whenever she sees it. I do believe that Big M is now in competition with her younger sister. 

We have had some many ups and downs while we have been trying to get Big M to tell us she needs a wee, from her weeing on our bed, having 5 accidents in one day and numerous plastic bags of shame we keep getting sent home with from her teachers. 

Big news today Big M had a poo in the potty without any prompting. This is huge news in our house…I was so happy and proud…god knows what I’m going to be like when she graduates from uni or something!! 

I’m sure she’ll love to read all about this when she’s older πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ but I do want her to know that I can see that she is trying to do it and shows that she understands but as her speech isn’t quite where other children are her age it can be quite difficult for her to articulate what she wants to do or say. However, she is getting better and better with that on a weekly basis so that maybe why we are having more successful days than unsuccessful days. 

Leave a Reply

