Dancing Time

Being a dance teacher I knew that it would be tough finding a decent dance school for my little girls. I have high expectations of any extra curricular activities they will do, but when it comes to dancing I was to ensure that it’s fun, exciting and safe. I have taught so many girls who have been to local dancing schools and they haven’t been trained properly. That might have something to do with the style of dance they were doing though.

We are currently on our second dance school at the moment – Big M started just after she was 3 in November. I was pleased with the school at first, however they kept changing their mind when the lessons were on which was extremely annoying when you’ve rushed to be there on time only to find the lesson had been cancelled.

We didn’t last there long so I started to look for somewhere else.

We are now at a new school that has been around for over 50 years!! It reminds me of the school I used to go to as a little girl; friendly, fun and seems to be very safe. We have been going for 3 weeks and I’ve enjoyed watching Big M watch the other little girls and copy not just in the class but at home as well.

FullSizeRender(Sorry about the crazy photo…we were behind a fire door!)

Dance can offer so much with the development of skills, confidence, communication, listening skills, memory development and the obvious physical skills. I want my children to tap into these skills through dance which will hopefully underpin everything that they do at school. Big M is already showing signs of developing her memory skills and joining of the dots…this is so important especially for her as she’s going for speech and language therapy and the more she can explain what she’s been doing, the more I hope her speech will improve.

http://www.ndeo.org/content.aspx?page_id=22&club_id=893257&module_id=55419 Have a look at this site for more information on the benefits of dance in children 🙂

Leave a Reply

